inktober 2019| day 10: Pattern

Twisted heart
Recurring patterns
Kaleidoscopic
Unreal, Vivid,
Ethereal, Empty-
Shimmer.
Tightly woven narratives
Intertwined fingers, lacing
Rigid
Stubborn
Like the single strand of my hair
That sticks out- a sore thumb
I point at it
With the fist of fingers
Undulating alternating pattern
Nail and knuckle
Nail and knuckle.
Safe.
Googly eyes
Raised eyebrows
Peering over purple rimmed spectacles
Glinting with excitement-
What patterns will you see
When you meet my gaze
And will I see that glint
Reflect back at me?
Starry.
Memorize the shape and gait
Of my teeth
As I say your name
Punctuate it with a little smile?
The upper ones stick out
Just a teensy bit
One’s looks.. embarrassed
You’ll see
As I bite my lip.
Shy.
Wrung and worn
Narratives loosen
With a familiarity like
The criss-crossing of my palm lines
They tend to move- so I’d like to believe-
In the dark, with age
Rearrange my destiny
Closer to reality
Loose patterns-
Lost possibilities.

Leave a comment