inktober 2019|day 9: swing

I swing in and out of my own life in a pendulum -esque fashion.

There’s two of me, one at the bob and the other pulling the string

She wants to apply for a job
I won’t plan to sit for the test and interview

She plans to write a paper for a conference
I shan’t make time to edit it well

She hates the idea of taking the GRE
I wouldn’t leave her with an option but to not-

She wants a beautiful, sunny future
I wouldn’t let her dream that she can have it

She would like an afternoon of rest
I will needle her about missed classes

She makes up for lost sleep
I pop open a can of energy drink at the same instant-

She wanted to hustle, after all
And I was being.. supportive.

She at times likes a man and his attention
I won’t respond to him enthusiastically (for her sake)

She makes up her mind
I nudge the pendulum from equilibrium

She likes adventures
I’m making her life one, unpredictable and impulsive

She calls me Dumb Bitch, a lovely compliment
I’m just making her vigorously less prosaic

She wants peace with me
I shrug it off. We’re best suited in incompatibility.

Leave a comment